Indian players in LPL 2021 Draft: Indian cricketers taking secret entry into Lanka premier league LPL

Indian players in LPL 2021 Draft: Indian cricketers taking secret entry into Lanka premier league LPL

Lanka Premier League

Lanka Premier League (LPL)&nbsp | &nbspPhoto Credits:&nbspTwitter


  • Preparations underway for Sri Lanka Premier League (SPL 2021)
  • Many Indian players may also enter SPL secretly
  • After all, why the whole process has been kept hidden, there is a big reason behind it.

New Delhi: Apart from former India left-arm fast bowler Sudeep Tyagi and wicketkeeper-batsman Manvinder Bisla who has played in first-class cricket as well as the Indian Premier League (IPL), former India international Yusuf Pathan is among the Indians who have played in the Lanka Premier League. Registered for this year’s edition of the league (LPL). This year’s edition of LPL will run from July 30 to August 22.

Sri Lanka Cricket in its media release, however, only mentioned Yusuf’s name among India’s international players, while the names of others were not disclosed. It also mentions Irfan Pathan as a player of Candy Tuskers. The former India left-arm pacer played for the Kandy franchise last year. There is talk of registration of other Indian players as well, but the names have not been revealed yet.

This is the reason for the secret entry

A source aware of the development said, “Most of the foreign franchises do not want the names to appear before the league starts as BCCI does not encourage Indians to play in foreign franchise T20 leagues. Both Tyagi and Bisla confirmed to IANS that they have indeed registered for the LPL.

Fast bowler Tyagi, who has represented Sunrisers Hyderabad and Chennai Super Kings in the IPL besides playing four ODIs and one T20I, was part of the Dambulla Viking squad in last year’s LPL.

Bisla said – I was thinking of going last time

Bisla told IANS, I was thinking of going last year, but could not go due to Kovid-19. Last year also no official information was given about the former Indian players participating in the LPL. Irfan Pathan, Tyagi and Munaf Patel took part in LPL 2020.

Many players have left BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India does not allow its players to participate in any foreign league. Players will have to retire from BCCI cricket to participate in foreign leagues. Recently, former India Under-19 player Smit Patel, who represented Gujarat and Goa at the domestic level and also played in the Duleep Trophy, left BCCI cricket to play club cricket in the Caribbean Premier League and the US.

He and many other Indian cricketers like Milind Kumar are also in line to play franchise cricket in the US. Milind, however, has not officially disclosed that he has been included in the draft of Major League Cricket where Patel will also play. However, a media report confirmed that he has been included in the draft.

#Indian #players #LPL #Draft #Indian #cricketers #secret #entry #Lanka #premier #league #LPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.