World Test Championship 2 I ICC set to award same points for each match win during World Test Championship 2

World Test Championship 2 I ICC set to award same points for each match win during World Test Championship 2

new zealand wtc champion

New Zealand WTC Champion&nbsp


  • ICC will now give equal points to teams for winning each match
  • Apart from the India-England series, only five matches will be played in the Ashes series.
  • England team will play maximum 21 test matches in WTC 2

New Delhi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) will award 12 points for each match win during the second World Test Championship (WTC) cycle. The second round of the WTC will begin with a five-match Test series between India and England. In case of tie, both the teams will get six points while in case of draw, four points each.

ICC interim CEO Geoff Allardyce told the media this month that the points system would be changed. An ICC board member told PTI, “Earlier, each series used to have the same 120 points, whether it was a two-Test series or a five-Test series. Each match in the next round will have the same number of points – a maximum of 12 per match. The ranking of the teams will be decided on the basis of percentage of points scored by the teams by playing the match.

The change in the points system is to be approved at the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee meeting in the coming weeks. “The goal is to try to simplify the points system and meaningfully compare teams in any problem table, even if they have not played a different number of matches and series,” the board member said.

All 9 teams will play a total of 6 series

Apart from the India-England series in the second round ending in June 2023, this year’s Ashes series will be the only five-match series. Australia’s tour of India next year will be the only series of four Tests in the upcoming cycle. Each of the nine teams will play a total of six series, with three at home and three at the opponent’s ground as was the case last season.

Related news

New Zealand defeated India in the final of the first round of the WTC to win the title. According to ESPNcricinfo, England will play the most number of Tests in the second round, followed by India (19), Australia (18) and South Africa (15). Teams of New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka will play 13 while Pakistan will play 14 Tests.

#World #Test #Championship #ICC #set #award #points #match #win #World #Test #Championship