Latest Cricket News. VIDEO: Controversial Hit wicket decision of Zimbabwe batsman Brendan Taylor against Bangladesh

Latest Cricket News. VIDEO: Controversial Hit wicket decision of Zimbabwe batsman Brendan Taylor against Bangladesh

Brendan Taylor Hit-Wicket

Brendan Taylor Hit-Wicket&nbsp | &nbspPhoto Credits:&nbspTwitter

Headlines

  • Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe – 2nd ODI – Controversy arose over an umpire’s decision
  • Weirdly given out to Zimbabwe’s veteran batsman Brendan Taylor
  • The pavilion was returned to Taylor by giving a hit-wicket decision, questions are being raised on the umpire regarding cricket rules

The second match of the ODI series being played between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh (ZIM vs BAN) was played on Sunday. In this match played in Harare, Zimbabwe scored 240 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 50 overs. In reply, Bangladesh team achieved the target in 49.1 overs losing 7 wickets on the basis of an unbeaten 96 by Shakib Al Hasan. By the way, Zimbabwe’s score in this match could have been even bigger and this match could have become exciting, if only one wicket of Brendan Taylor had not fallen.

In fact, when Zimbabwe’s team was batting, their most experienced batsman and captain Brendan Taylor was on the way to half-century after scoring 46 runs. The manner in which he was playing, it was clear that he could have executed a big innings but it did not happen, as Taylor was strangely dismissed on the second ball of the 25th over.

What happened on that ball after all?

Brendan Taylor tries to play an upper-cut shot on a ball from Shoriful Islam in the 25th over but the ball does not make contact with the bat. Only when the ball has gone back, they normally bring the bat back to its position by waving it, only then the bat hits the wickets behind. No one else got much attention but a Bangladesh fielder noticed this and appealed to the umpire. On-field umpire Marais Erasmus had also not seen anything, so the responsibility of the decision was handed over to the third umpire.

See also  World emoji day 2021 | World emoji day how to download new emoji stickers

The controversial decision of hit-wicket came, what are the rules?

TV umpire Langton Roussair saw the replay and ruled that Brendan Taylor was hit-wicket and the batsman, playing on 46, would have to return to the pavilion. Seeing this wicket, in no time there is a stir from dressing form to social media and everyone starts searching for the rules. As for the rules, under Law 35.1.1.1.1, a batsman may be given a hit-wicket out when he makes a ball with his bat or body while attempting to play the ball.

At the same time, Law 35.2 states that a batsman cannot be given out hit-wicket when his attempt to play the ball has ended and he then scatters bails with the bat. There is also a dead-ball rule which states that the ball is dead when the ball has reached the keeper or bowler’s hands. That is, no decision of hit-wicket can be given after that.

What the umpire thinks is important

Now that Taylor has been given out, the question arises whether the third umpire took this decision keeping the rules in mind. In such a situation, one more thing has to be understood that the umpire also has the right to his own thinking and understanding. Like in Taylor’s case, if there is no concrete evidence and the umpire feels that it falls in the category of hit-wicket, then he can declare him out.


#Latest #Cricket #News #VIDEO #Controversial #Hit #wicket #decision #Zimbabwe #batsman #Brendan #Taylor #Bangladesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *