Sri Lanka vs India Series | Ranjan Madugalle named as match referee and Kumar Dharmasena among five Umpires in Sri Lanka vs India series

Sri Lanka vs India Series | Ranjan Madugalle named as match referee and Kumar Dharmasena among five Umpires in Sri Lanka vs India series

Ranjan Madugalle and Kumar Dharmasena

Ranjan Madug and Kumar Dharmasena (Photo Credits – ICC)&nbsp


  • Indian team tour of Sri Lanka 2021
  • Both teams will play ODI-T20 series
  • The first match will be played on 18th July.

The limited overs series between India and Sri Lanka is going to start from 18th July. Both the teams will play first three ODIs and then as many T20 matches. The tour of the Indian team was earlier to start from July 13, but the date was extended after the corona infection surfaced in the Sri Lankan camp. Now that the India-Sri Lanka clash is just a few days away, the match referees and umpires for the series have been announced. While former Sri Lanka captain Ranjan Madugalle will be the referee for six matches, Kumar is included in the list of five umpires, including Dharmasena.

ICC gave this permission to the board

Ranjan Madugalle is one of the most experienced match referees in world cricket. Madugalle is the chief match referee of the International Cricket Council (ICC). On the other hand, Dharmasena, who leads the on-field umpires in the series, is also highly experienced. He is the umpire of the ICC Elite Panel. Dharmasena will be assisted by ICC international panel umpires Lyndon Hannibal, Prageeth Rambukwella, Ravindra Vimalasiri and Ruchira Palliyaguruge. Explain that during the Corona era, the ICC has allowed domestic boards to have their own match referees and umpires so that travel and other baggage related things can be cut down.

See also  Who is Saqib Mahmood: ENG vs PAK: England pacer Saqib Mahmood takes down Pakistan in ODI series opener

Shikhar Dhawan will take over the command of India

On the Sri Lanka tour, Team India will be led by opener Shikhar Dhawan. India’s regular captain Virat Kohli is on a tour of England, due to which the reins of the team have been handed over to Dhawan. At the same time, fast bowler Bhuneshwar Kumar is the vice-captain. The team consists of 20 players and five net bowlers. There are six players on the tour who have no experience of playing international matches. It is known that former Indian batsman Rahul Dravid has gone to Sri Lanka with the Indian as head coach.

Indian team is as follows

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K. Gautam, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Chetan Sakaria.

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore and Simranjit Singh.

Related news

#Sri #Lanka #India #Series #Ranjan #Madugalle #named #match #referee #Kumar #Dharmasena #among #Umpires #Sri #Lanka #India #series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *